Mr. Craig’s Corner

Homework, tips and tricks, communication.

The Magic Door September 12, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — poet145 @ 11:06 am

There it was, glowing radiantly in the middle of the forest, a golden hue, almost halo like encircling the entire thing. I found myself unable to pull away my eyes from its magnificent aura, like it had a gravitational pull and my eyes were trapped there, being pulled in like the sun does Earth and Mars. I couldn’t believe it; years, decades it had been since I first even heard, had an idea, even thought about finding the magic door. Oh what treasures must lie inside awaiting me. Me, after so many had tried and failed, after so many had sought out its glorious wooden frame, it was I the door had allowed to find it. And now, although overwhelmed with the possibilities, with the prospects of opening and revealing what immense treasures lay inside, I hesitated…
I, I can’t really explain why I held my hand, stood my ground. I can’t really deduce why I hadn’t just thrown my body in its direction and grabbed the handle, yanking the door wide and plunging myself inside. I had dreamt of this day for years. Since at the age of 8, I had heard the story of the magic door at the traveling bazaar, the bearded storyteller with the black cape, black cane, shiny black shoes and the deep black eyes who had all of we tiny children completely engrossed in his fantastic tale. Yet when he finished, it was only I who had lingered on, waiting for the storyteller after the bazaar had closed. Even then I didn’t quite know why I stuck around after closing time, placing myself into peril with my mother, but I did. And after I snuck into his tent, upon discovering the notes from whence his story must’ve been told, I saw it, scribbled as if in a hurry on a shard of paper small enough to be a corner of a napkin, I saw it; the tiny makings of a map. To whence, from whence I couldn’t tell, but upon finding it the beating of my heart commenced to sounding drum like, similar to the thumping sounds of a marching band traveling across a wooden bridge. I grabbed the tiny map, slipped it gingerly into my front trouser pocket, and stealthily snuck back out of the tent…

 

One Response to “The Magic Door”

  1. armandine145 Says:

    I hated it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!really i did hate
    it


Leave a Reply

